Parallel Vienna

Art fair

September 22 — 27, 2020

PARALLEL Vienna 2020, Vienna, AT

Parallel_2020

To launch the autumn fair season, we invite you to visit our room installation by Hermann Nitsch at the PARALLEL VIENNA. In view of the 6-DAY-PLAY 2021, the Nitsch Foundation is setting up a retrospective of the first realisation of the 6-DAY-PLAY from 1998.

Hermann Nitsch’s idea for a six-day and six-night action work dates back to 1957. Influenced by the Gesamtkunstwerk efforts of Richard Wagner and Alexander Scriabin, Hermann Nitsch who at that time worked intensively with the medium of literature, conceived his synaesthetically oriented action theatre, exhilarating all five senses: The Orgies Mysteries Theatre.

The length is analogous to the history of creation and is understood as an extension of all monumental works of art. All actions of the O.M. Theatre performed since then, i.e. since the early sixties, must be understood as partial realisations of the Six-Day-Play.

The Orgien Mysterien Theater is an artistic endeavour. In addition to the visual idea of form, music plays an essential role. The basic concept of the play is based on a symphonic idea. The scene of the action is the castle in Prinzendorf with all its rooms and the surrounding landscape of the Lower Austrian Weinviertel.

23 years after the first realisation of the 6-DAY-PLAY (1998), the total work of art in Prinzendorf is to be condensed again in 2021 into a concentrated interplay of all its components.

 

PARALLEL VIENNA

Parallel Vienna is a curated artists’ fair that is taking place for the eighth time in Vienna at the same time as viennacontemporary. It presents both young emerging and established artistic positions. This year, too, it remains true to the principle of using a vacant property in the city centre as a presentation platform and bundling the urban forces of contemporary art production.

We look forward to your visit!

Please be aware:
You can only visit the vernissage and fair with a time slot reservation. TICKETS
All artists, exhibitors and visitors have to wear masks.
For more information concerning covid-19 safety guidelines, click here.

PARALLEL Vienna 2020
Rudolf-Sallinger-Platz 1
1030 Vienna
Austria
www.parallelvienna.com

Further events

Parallel Vienna

Kunstmesse

22. — 27. September 2020

PARALLEL Vienna 2020, Wien, AT

Parallel Vienna 2020

Zum Auftakt der herbstlichen Messesaison laden wir Sie ein, unsere Rauminstallation von Hermann Nitsch auf der PARALLEL VIENNA zu besuchen. Im Fokus steht das 6-TAGE-SPIEL des Künstlers!

Im Hinblick auf das 6-TAGE-SPIEL 2021 richtet die Nitsch Foundation im Rahmen der Messe eine Retrospektive der ersten Realisierung des 6-TAGE-SPIELS von 1998 ein.

Hermann Nitschs Idee zu einer sechs Tage und sechs Nächte dauernden Aktionsarbeit geht bis auf das Jahr 1957 zurück. Der damals mit dem Medium Literatur arbeitende Künstler konzipierte unter Einfluss der Gesamtkunstwerksbestrebungen eines Richard Wagner und Alexander Scriabin sein synästhetisch ausgerichtetes, das heißt alle fünf Sinne beanspruchendes, Aktionstheater: Das Orgien Mysterien Theater.

Die Länge steht in Analogie zur Schöpfungsgeschichte und versteht sich als Erweiterung aller monumentalen Kunstwerke. Alle seitdem, also seit den frühen sechziger Jahren durchgeführten Aktionen des O.M. Theaters müssen als Teilverwirklichungen des Sechstagespiel verstanden werden.

Das Orgien Mysterien Theater ist eine künstlerische Bestrebung. Neben dem visuellen formgedanken spielt die Musik eine wesentliche Rolle. Der Grundkonzeption des Spielablaufes liegt ein sinfonischer Gedanke zugrunde. Schauplatz der Aktion ist die Schlossanlage in Prinzendorf mit all ihren Räumlichkeiten sowie der umliegenden Landschaft des niederösterreichischen Weinviertels.

23 Jahre nach der ersten Realisierung des 6-tage-spiels (1998) soll sich 2021 in Prinzendorf erneut das Gesamtkunstwerk zu einem konzentrierten Zusammenspiel all seiner Komponenten verdichten.

 

PARALLEL VIENNA

Die Parallel Vienna ist eine kuratierte Künstlermesse, die zum achten Mal zeitgleich mit der viennacontemporary in Wien stattfindet. Sie präsentiert sowohl junge aufstrebende als auch etablierte künstlerische Positionen. Auch dieses Jahr bleibt sie dem Prinzip treu: eine leerstehende Immobilie in der Innenstadt als Präsentationsplattform zu nutzen und die urbanen Kräfte zeitgenössischer Kunstproduktion zu bündeln.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch!

 

WICHTIGER HINWEIS:
Sie können die Vernissage und die Messe nur mit einer Zeitfensterreservation besuchen. TICKETS
Alle Künstler, Aussteller und Besucher müssen Masken tragen.
Weitere Informationen zu den Sicherheitsrichtlinien von covid-19 finden Sie hier.

PARALLEL Vienna 2020
Rudolf-Sallinger-Platz 1
1030 Wien
Österreich
www.parallelvienna.com

Weitere Veranstaltungen