Hermann Nitsch painting action "Walküre" Bayreuth Festival 2021

Film Premiere

April 9, 2022, 4pm — 9.20pm

nitsch museum, Mistelbach, AT

©Bayreuther Festspiele 2021 Foto: EnricoNawrath

The nitsch museum presents a film of Hermann Nitsch’s complete painting action for Richard Wagner’s “Die Walküre” staged at the Bayreuth Festival 2021.


Thanks to the intensive efforts of Rita Nitsch, it was possible to create a montage of the complete four-hour opera from the footage of the rehearsal and the premiere, in which the powerful ephemeral sound images come to life once again. The result is a cinematic relic of this congenial interweaving of Wagnerian sounds paired with the painting actionism of Hermann Nitsch.

Hermann Nitsch was invited by the Bayreuth Festival (Wagner Festival) to support a concert version of Richard Wagner’s “Die Walküre” in the summer of 2021. Nitsch produced an extensive painting action for each of the opera’s three acts, in which the score was transformed into bright colours scene by scene. With the help of ten painting assistants up to 1000 litres of paint were spilled at each performance.

“wagner has fascinated me all my life. because of this wonderful, indulgent, sensual music, which makes the sound blossom beyond the melody. even in its earliest forms of performance, art was connected with cult, religion and the gesamtkunstwerk. and wagner is the uncoverer of the gesamtkunstwerk. he made it shine.” – Hermann Nitsch

16:00 – 17:00 Act 1
17:00 – 17:45 Pause with a guided tour by Michael Karrer, artistic director
17:45 – 19:20 Act 2
19:20 – 20:00 Pause with a guided tour by Julia Kuon, curator
20:00 – 21:20 Act 3

 

Admission is free.
Registration is absolutely necessary at anmeldung@nitschmuseum.at
The event will be held in compliance with the current COVID-19 regulations. We recommend wearing an FFP2 mask in any case.

nitsch museum
Waldstraße 44-46
2130 Mistelbach
Austria
www.nitschmuseum.at

To the exhibition

Further events

Hermann Nitsch Malaktion "Walküre" Bayreuther Festspiele 2021

Filmpremiere der Aufzeichnung

9. April 2022, 16 — 21.20 Uhr

nitsch museum, Mistelbach, AT

©Bayreuther Festspiele 2021 Foto: Enrico Nawrath

Das nitsch museum präsentiert erstmals einen Film der voll-ständigen Malaktion von Hermann Nitsch zu Richard Wagners
„Die Walküre“ im Zuge der Bayreuther Festspiele 2021.

Dank intensiver Bemühungen von Rita Nitsch war es möglich, aus dem Filmmaterial der Generalprobe und der Premiere einen Zusammenschnitt der kompletten vier stündigen Oper zu erstellen, in dem die gewaltigen ephemeren Klangbilder noch einmal lebendig werden. Es entstand ein filmisches Relikt dieser kongenialen Verflechtung von wagnerischen Klängen mit dem Malaktionismus von Hermann Nitsch.

Der Aktionskünstler wurde von den Bayreuther Festspielen eingeladen, im Sommer 2021 eine konzertante Version von Richard Wagners „Die Walküre“ szenisch zu begleiten. Nitsch konzipierte für jeden der drei Akte eine umfangreiche Malaktion, bei der die Partitur mithilfe von zehn Malassistent*innen Szene für Szene in leuchtende Farben transformiert wurde. Pro Aufführung wurden bis zu 1000 Liter Farbe verschüttet.

„wagner hat mich mein ganzes leben fasziniert. wegen dieser wunderbaren, schwelgerischen, sinnlichen musik, die den klang über die melodie hinaus zum blühen bringt. die kunst war schon in ihren ersten auftrittsformen mit dem kult, der religion und dem gesamtkunstwerk verbunden. und wagner ist der freileger des gesamtkunstwerks. er hat es zum aufleuchten gebracht.“ – Hermann Nitsch

16:00 – 17:00 Uhr 1. Akt
17:00 – 17:45 Uhr Pause inkl. Führung mit dem künstlerischen Leiter Mag. Michael Karrer
17:45 – 19:20 Uhr 2. Akt
19:20 – 20:00 Uhr Pause inkl. Führung mit der Kuratorin Julia Kuon
20:00 – 21:20 Uhr 3. Akt

 

Der Eintritt ist frei.
Eine Anmeldung ist unbedingt erforderlich unter anmeldung@nitschmuseum.at
Die Veranstaltung findet unter Einhaltung der aktuellen COVID-19-Bestimmungen statt. Wir empfehlen auf jeden Fall das Tragen einer FFP2-Maske.

nitsch museum
Waldstraße 44-46
2130 Mistelbach
Österreich
www.nitschmuseum.at

Zur Ausstellung

Weitere Veranstaltungen